Power tools: six listings compared on published specifications
Six power tools listings, listed between $4.25 and $169.00, compared on the figures each retailer actually publishes: price, rating and rating count. Nothing here was tested first-hand, and the top pick is the listing that states the most specifications.
Advertising disclosure. This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, ToolTrove may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, ToolTrove earns from qualifying purchases. ToolTrove also participates in the AliExpress affiliate programme.
Commission never decides which products appear here, and no placement on this page is paid for. Selection is described in full under How these picks were selected. See our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.
Most specs published
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag
Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.
All figures above are manufacturer-stated, reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Any figure the listing does not state is recorded as not stated in this listing.
Link below opens the product page on this site, which then links out to the retailer. That outbound link is an affiliate link.
See Details for the DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag , on this siteWhat the listings actually tell you about power tools
Choosing power tools comes down to a single question: does the listing publish enough to judge the product before it arrives? This page takes six listings from the ToolTrove power tools shelf and compares only what each retailer states in writing. Where a figure is missing, that absence is recorded rather than filled in.
Four points decide most power tool purchases, and each is drawn from published guidance rather than from opinion:
- A corded or battery tool gets a check before every shift. OSHA requires portable electric equipment to be visually inspected before use and taken out of service if defective, keeps the grounding conductor intact, bars adapters that break it, and states that hands must not be wet when plugging or unplugging a cord.
- Guards are part of the tool, not an accessory. OSHA requires that guards designed for a power tool be in place while it runs, and that belts, gears, shafts, pulleys and chains be guarded wherever they can be reached.
- Vibration is a cumulative injury, not a nuisance. The HSE identifies hand-held and guided powered tools as sources of hand-arm vibration and links regular exposure to permanent harm including hand-arm vibration syndrome and carpal tunnel syndrome.
- Before first use the equipment itself has to qualify. Under PUWER 1998 the HSE requires work equipment to be suitable for the job, maintained, inspected and fitted with safeguards before anyone is allowed to use it.
None of those points can be settled by a product photograph, which is why the comparison below stays with stated figures.
How the six listings compare
Of the six listings on this page, six publish a current price, five publish a previous price, and six publish a product rating. That spread is the comparison: a listing that states more can be checked more.
On that count, DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag publishes the most — 5 of the five figures tracked here. That is a transparency judgement about the listing and not a quality judgement about the product, and it is the only reason it is named top pick.
The table reproduces every figure exactly as the retailer published it. Blank cells are marked rather than estimated, and prices change without notice, so the retailer page remains the authority at the time of purchase.
All figures are manufacturer-stated and reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Prices change without notice; the retailer page is the authority at the time of purchase.
Which listing suits which buyer
There is no single right answer for every user. Before ordering, buyers generally need to settle four things:
- Whether voltage, battery platform and charger are stated, or only implied by a photograph.
- Whether the listing names the guard supplied with the tool.
- Whether any run-time or torque figure is published as a number.
- Whether the tool is sold bare or with a battery included.
Three of the six listings on this page are stocked on Amazon and three on AliExpress. The split is not a ranking — it reflects where each listing is sold, and both groups were assessed by the same measure.
The lowest listed price on the page belongs to Rotating Nozzle Drill Bit Dust Box Efficient Dust Collection Design Suitable for Drilling Sanding, Grinding at $4.25. A lower price is a fact about the listing, not evidence that it suits a particular animal.
The largest published rating count belongs to DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag , with 60,694 ratings recorded on the listing. That figure reflects other buyers' experience with their own animals, and no assessment of it was carried out here.
How these picks were selected
Selection starts from the topic and only then looks at what is available. Every product listed here matches the stated topic and is stocked by this site in that category; a listing that does not match is dropped rather than substituted for something close enough. When nothing matches, the page stays a reference page and lists no products at all.
Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.
Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no manufacturer or retailer has paid for a placement here. No listening test, measurement or first-hand assessment stands behind any ranking on this page.
Figures are reproduced from the retailer listing or the manufacturer specification sheet exactly as published. Where a listing does not state a figure, this page records that it is not stated in this listing rather than borrowing a number from another source. Product images are shown unmodified.
Sources are linked in full at the foot of this page so each claim can be checked rather than trusted. This page is regenerated whenever its source listings change, and the date at the top reflects that regeneration.
Selected options
Each link below opens that product's page on this site, which links out to the retailer. Those outbound links are affiliate links, as set out at the top of this page.
shopping_cart Available on Amazon
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag
Listed at $169.00, down from $239.00 as stated, rated 4.7 / 5 on the listing, across 60,694 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag
DEWALT 20V MAX Portable Fan, Battery Powered Rechargeable Cordless Shop Fan, Up to 4.5 Hrs Runtime, Variable S
Listed at $92.15, down from $127.99 as stated, rated 4.8 / 5 on the listing, across 8,315 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the DEWALT 20V MAX Portable Fan, Battery Powered Rechargeable Cordless Shop Fan, Up to 4.5 Hrs Runtime, Variable S
Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power Chain Saw with 2 Batteries, for T
Listed at $33.99, down from $49.99 as stated, rated 4.6 / 5 on the listing, across 15,615 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power Chain Saw with 2 Batteries, for Tlocal_mall Available on AliExpress
M14 Angle Grinder Quick Release Self-Locking Grinder Pressing Plate Flange Nut Power Chuck
Listed at $5.58, down from $16.89 as stated, rated 4.7 / 5 on the listing, across 13,250 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the M14 Angle Grinder Quick Release Self-Locking Grinder Pressing Plate Flange Nut Power Chuck
Rotating Nozzle Drill Bit Dust Box Efficient Dust Collection Design Suitable for Drilling Sanding, Grinding
Listed at $4.25, down from $10.35 as stated, rated 4.8 / 5 on the listing, across 10,617 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Rotating Nozzle Drill Bit Dust Box Efficient Dust Collection Design Suitable for Drilling Sanding, Grinding
Makita DTW700 18V Brushless Impact Wrench Cordless Drill Tool High Torque 700N.m for Auto Repair Truck Tire Removal
Listed at $65.93, rated 4.9 / 5 on the listing, across 3,211 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.
See Details for the Makita DTW700 18V Brushless Impact Wrench Cordless Drill Tool High Torque 700N.m for Auto Repair Truck Tire RemovalFrequently asked questions
What should be checked before plugging a tool in? expand_more
OSHA requires a visual inspection before each shift, removal from service if defective, an intact grounding conductor with no adapter that breaks it, and dry hands at the plug.
Is vibration from a power tool actually harmful? expand_more
The HSE links regular exposure from hand-held and guided powered tools to permanent harm, including hand-arm vibration syndrome and carpal tunnel syndrome, and points to the Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005.
Do the guards have to stay on? expand_more
OSHA requires guards designed for a power tool to be in place while it runs, and belts, gears, shafts, pulleys and chains to be guarded where they are reachable.
Does a higher price mean a better tool? expand_more
Price is not evidence of quality and nothing here is ranked by price. Every figure shown is reproduced from the retailer listing exactly as published.
How was the top pick on this page chosen? expand_more
By counting how many specification figures each listing publishes in writing. DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag publishes the most of the six, so it is named top pick. Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no placement on this page was paid for.
Related reading
Sources
- link Occupational Safety and Health Administration — Requires portable electric equipment to be visually inspected before each shift and removed from service if defective, keeps the grounding conductor intact and bars adapters that break it, and bars wet hands at the plug.
- link Health and Safety Executive — Identifies hand-held and guided powered tools such as hedge trimmers and powered mowers as sources of hand-arm vibration, and links regular exposure to permanent harm including hand-arm vibration syndrome and carpal tunnel syndrome.
- link Occupational Safety and Health Administration — Requires that hand and power tools be kept in safe condition whether the employer or the worker supplied them, that guards designed for a power tool stay in place while it runs, and that belts, gears, shafts and pulleys be guarded.
- link Occupational Safety and Health Administration — States that protective equipment is required wherever the work itself cannot be made safe by design or practice, lists gloves, eye protection, hearing protection and footwear among it, and expects it to meet or match ANSI standards.